I had seen a very similar photograph on deviantART a few days before. It was of a tall, thin woman, with decent sized breasts and rear-end, standing in front of a window so that the outline of her body created a curvy silhouette. I wondered what my body would look like in the same situation. On day 5 I tried it. I didn’t have enough time to get my tripod out and do it properly, so I pulled my husband’s sock drawer out a bit, stacked up a few pairs of socks and started snapping pics using the self timer. I didn’t take too many, the baby needed me. I ended up with a couple that I liked and edited those. As I was about to post it on Facebook I had second thoughts. Is this too provocative? Am I showing too much? What will my Grandma think? What will my religious friends think of me? I actually didn’t think about, hey am I too fat to show this? That was kind of a break through. I obviously don’t have the “perfect” body. I have a small back roll and a couple big front ones, but I like this photo and I like the way I look in it. I don’t think it’s too sexual and I am proud of it. So there inner voices! Take that!

  “How idiotic civilization is!  Why be given a body if you have to keep it shut up in a case like a rare, rare fiddle? ” ~Katherine Mansfield

