For a couple of days I had been thinking about taking some shots outside. Beside my house there is a little nook surrounded by bushes and trees on two sides, my house on one and open in the front.  It would be the perfect place to put on a long dress, set up the tripod and try to capture an image like Julia Margaret Cameron. She was a very talented British lady who lived from 1815-1879. She was given a camera as a gift and at the age of 48 and started taking photographs. They were mostly of the young women in her life and included some famous faces. Charles Darwin, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Robert Browning and her niece who later birthed the famous female author Virginia Woolf. I have always loved her work and have done two previous projects in photography classes about her and tried to emulate her photos. I never tire of them or of trying to make pieces that mimic them. She was a woman doing what she wanted and loved to do in a time when women weren’t given a voice. Below are some of her works.

So I decided on day six that it was the day, but the day kept going and before I knew it I was running out of time. I managed to steal a few minutes away with my camera in the nook. The sun was bright, the wind was blowing and I didn’t get but a few shots. This one had to be the one. I spent some time editing it, making it look old-ish. I’m not completely pleased with it. I have a feeling I will be out there with my dress and tripod before too long.

              “From the first moment I handled my lens with a tender ardour.” ~Julia Margaret Cameron

