I am taking a developmental math class at the local community college. I was never good at math. In the third grade when they were learning the 7, 8 and 9 times tables I had the chicken pox for two weeks and when I came back, I never got caught up. I never felt like I ever learned math correctly, which as an adult I realize is partly my fault. Sometimes you just say that you can’t do something and give up before you really try. In all my years of college I managed to avoid it like the plague… until now. This week and last we have been learning fractions, which I never liked. I have come to find out that prime factorization is my arch-enemy. I have been having nightmares about it. I wake up in the wee hours of the AM with a prime factorization tree image lingering in front of my eyes. My sleeping brain will give me a number and I start trying to figure out its factors. This chapter is almost over, but it might kill me before we take the test.

So after all this math imagery floating around in my noggin I had the idea for this photo. I’ve had pages and pages of scrap paper with problems chicken scratched through out all over the place. I found one with those damn prime factorization trees, threw that piece in the scanner and got it up on Photoshop. Took a few shots of me looking highly irritated, which this just happened to be the first and best, and put the two together. I am really pleased with this image. Love the color, the overlay of the math, the expression and composition. Definitely have to say it is one of my favorites from this project so far.

“Can you do Division?  Divide a loaf by a knife – what’s the answer to that? ” ~Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking Glass

