Over the weekend I took photos for my son’s flag football team. That means multiple photos of each child, all 12 of them, team shots and more photos than I thought that I took of the actual game. I plugged in the memory card on Saturday and it didn’t come back out til yesterday, which was Tuesday. That was only because I needed to take some new photos to continue with this project, then it went right back in so I could finish the football pics today. Needless to say on days twenty-one, two and three I used rejects from other days. I wanted to try some new abstract techniques using a square format. In the back of my mind I kept thinking about Picasso and his portraits, how they distorted the figure and moved parts around. Once again I had a totally different idea in mind at first and then something just kind of evolved and I went with it. I don’t particularly like any of these images. I kind of looked at them as practice, with that being said, they were really fun to make. I didn’t hold anything back, just let it flow.

21. “I begin with an idea and then it becomes something else.”  ~Pablo Picasso

22. “There is no abstract art. You must always start with something. Afterward you can remove all traces of reality.”
~Pablo Picasso

23. “It took me four years to paint like Raphael, but a lifetime to paint like a child.” ~Pablo Picasso
