Over the last year or so I’ve started changing the way that I cook. Instead of always doing what is easy and pre-made, when I have time, I really take my time and add ingredients that I never used before, experimenting like a mad chemist. Since my husband’s return from Iraq in June he too has joined the band wagon. Maybe it’s from watching too many food shows, who knows. Also I feel that I spend almost half of my day in the kitchen, preparing breakfasts, lunches and dinners day in and day out. Not to mention all the cleaning that goes into all that cooking. Day twenty I decided to take a series of shots documenting my afternoon/evening kitchen time. Balancing the cleaning, the children and the cooking, and some how managing to make a decent meal. A mother’s work is never done. I wasn’t sure where I was going with the actual lay out of these photos. I had something totally different in mind. This is what looked best with what I had.

“I was 32 when I started cooking; up until then, I just ate.” ~Julia Child

