in a weary world. One of my favorite quotes from the original and best Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. On our way out of the dreaded Wal-mart just about an hour ago there was a woman, an older woman whom looked like she smoked too many cigarettes, had done her fair share of illegal drugs and was perhaps missing more than a few teeth. She walked over to another lady who was getting into her car, which was right next to mine, and asked her for a “boost.” Her car was dead and it was parked across from both this lady’s and mine. The lady didn’t even think about it, she just said no! I think the lady with the dead car was kind of shocked. As I was going to the door to get Melora, my daughter, in she asked if I could. I asked if she had the cables and she said she did and knew how to it. I said sure, no problem. We got her hooked up and on the second try her beat up car, with the cracked windshield and the little yappy chihuahua in the back, fired right up. She was entirely too grateful to me and said “God bless you” twice.

When I got in the car to leave, my son, Aidan, said, “That was really nice of you to help her.” We proceeded to have a nice conversation about helping people and how it was a good thing. That you should only do it if you feel comfortable and think that the situation is safe. I told him that I had to rely on the kindness of strangers more than a few times and you never know when you might need help from someone you don’t know. He has already been brain-washed to think that strangers are bad, the sad existence of our country. We teach our children to be weary of everyone, which creates adults that are weary of everyone. We have been manipulated to believe that no one is trust worthy. Now, I don’t think is without good reason. There are many bad people out there looking to hurt others, and we must all be cautious of this. However, I don’t think that the majority of the human race fits into this category. Especially a poor woman alone with her dog in a Wal-mart parking lot at 3 o’clock in the afternoon.

Get out there and meet your neighbors, talk to people in the grocery store, help others when they need it and make eye contact. We as a country are losing the art of communicating face to face. It truly is a weary world.

