I had been feeling totally unfeminine; always with my hair pulled back, jeans, t-shirt, flannel, sneakers. I needed a reminder that I am indeed a woman, a member of the female race. I was going to get ready for bed and decided to take some time out for myself and knock out a photo as well. I trimmed my white calla lily plant and then snipped a flower for myself. I got out my flash and filters. I chose a light pink filter, and yes, took off my shirt, sat against the white wall, flipped my hair over, strategically placed the flower and began to shoot. This shot is my new favorite from this project. It does make me feel feminine. There is so much I could do with those filters, I really need to use them more often.

Femininity appears to be one of those pivotal qualities that is so important no one can define it.” ~Caroline Bird

