I opened my fridge fruit drawer this particular morning and saw my 10 lb. bag of California navel oranges staring back at me. I loved the mesh bag that they were in and the large quantity of oranges gave me an idea. Photo shoot time! When I got a chance I put on some make-up, laid a red blanket on the floor, cut a chuck of the bag off, dumped all the oranges out, and sprayed them with water. I already had an orange shirt on which worked out perfectly. I set up my studio light, put my external flash on the camera and laid down on the floor. I set the oranges up around my head like a sunburst and started taking pics. It was much more difficult that I expected to get a good shot. I took so many photos, with the mesh, without, from every angle I could reach. This was my favorite, but below are some other good ones. It also made me think of a cool saying, a take on the “An apple a day keeps the doctor away”; “An orange a day keeps the blues away.” 🙂

“And every day when I’ve been good, I get an orange after food.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

