Back in the stone ages when I was in some drawing class at VCU we had a live model and the teacher put a colorful slide projected onto the person. It was really neat how it played on the person’s form and became an abstraction. My mother-in-law bought the kids these night lights that project images, but we haven’t been able to use them because there aren’t any good plugs in their rooms that allow for the projection to shine onto the ceiling. This particular day I remembered them and thought it would be cool to try it out on myself. I went in my room, turned off the lights, plugged in the night light, set my camera on a very long shutter speed with the self-timer and took a few shots. It took a while to get myself in the frame, because it was so dark in there I could hardly see the camera. Anyhoo, I really love this shot, I think it’s lovely. This one is my son’s it is a projection of a space scene with planets and what not. My daughter has one that is of a princess and a castle. I might have to try that one out too.

 “The mind, this globe of awareness, is a starry universe that when you push off with your foot, a thousand new roads become clear, as you yourself do at dawn, sailing through the light.” ~Rumi

Another neat shot from the same shoot.

