This was the last shot for my 365 project I took with my Nikon D50 before it stopped working. We were at the Freedom Fest on July 4th, 2012 at Fort Hood, Texas. It is a big carnival with food, rides, music and fireworks. This particular year Kelly Clarkson was the musical guest. She was awesome. She had a busted foot and still played for the troops. I wasn’t the biggest fan before, but I really like her after seeing her at Freedom Fest. Anyhoo, this photo was taken in the Ferris wheel at the top. You can see the festival in the background. I was having a great time up in the air with my son, looking lovingly down and across the huge post. Recanting good memories, like giving birth to my daughter at the hospital I could see from my chair in the air seat. Later that night I was taking photos of Ms. Clarkson and my camera stopped working. The shutter would not release and it had an error message. I looked it up later and attempted to fix it myself, but many months later I had to send it in to be repaired. Almost $200 later I now have it back and am finishing up this project with it. In the mean time I used a Nikon point and shoot, a friend’s borrowed D50, my old crappy cell phone, a super crappy cell phone when the old crappy one stopped working and then my new iphone. This project has seen it’s fair share of ups and downs.

194

“Fun is about as good a habit as there is.” ~Jimmy Buffet

ff20

The view from the Ferris wheel of the festival and Fort Hood.

ff40

My view of Kelly Clarkson. One of the last shots before my camera bit the dust.

