This shot was taken on the first trip down Rt. 10 in Virginia from Enon to Suffolk to visit my in-laws in their new place after we moved back from Texas. We were headed back to my parents house in Enon after a nice visit with my in-laws. There was a place I had been to once before to take some band photos of my husband’s old band. It was an old cemetery with ruins of a brick church. The day we took photos there it was freezing and the wind was blowing like crazy. I had always wanted to go back there and I took the opportunity to on this trip. I stopped and took about ten minutes to walk around and take some photos. Right behind the cemetery was a huge field of corn. I took some photos of it as well and snapped this shot of myself in front of it. I like this shot. That day was warm and beautiful. I really enjoyed my brief time there.

213

“May your passion be the kernel of corn stuck between your molars, always reminding you there’s something to tend to.” ~Jeb Dickerson

rt10stop1

Church ruins and graves.

rt10stop10

Church ruins.

rt10stop11

Amazing that it was built in 1639. Sad that it was destroyed and never rebuilt. Don’t really know the history of it, perhaps I could do some research.

rt10stop12

Walled plots.

rt10stop8

Headstones and corn field.

rt10stop9

Corn, beautiful green corn!

