taken-2-still01

My husband picked this movie as his choice to get from Netflix. We get the DVD service and we take turns picking movies, 1 for me, 1 for him and 1 for the kids. Taken 2 was his first pick. I had not seen the first Taken. I like Liam Neeson and had no real idea what it was about. Man was I in for a total waste of 91 minutes. This nothing but action flick was directed my Olivier Megaton, known for other action films like Colombiana and Transporter 3 ( there is a third one?). This film was beaten down by critics, but earned more than the first one in the box office.

It has no real plot other than the family of the dead dudes that kidnapped his daughter in the first movie want revenge. So what do they do? They kidnap the Mom this time. The rest of the movie is an unbelievable bunch of killings throughout Istanbul, Turkey. Oh, there is some family drama at the beginning that makes a sloppy attempt at some character development. It does a bad job, as there is no connection felt to the characters what-so-ever. I never understood action movies where at the end the “hero” has killed enough people to be considered a mass murderer and there is never any consequences for his actions. He can sit down and have a milkshake with his family and they can all fake laugh like nothing happened. This movie blows! It gets 1 out of 5 stars and that is only because I still like Liam Neeson.

