jerseygirl-smith-tyler-affleck_1080092099

I put off watching this movie, well since it came out in 2004. I had loved everything Kevin Smith until I saw the previews for this one. I am not a Ben Affleck fan. I’m not really sure what it is about him, he could totally be an awesome, nice guy, but something about him really bothers me. So when I saw that he was the main character and Jennifer Lopez was in it too, that made me cringe. I don’t really have anything against her either, but at the time she was all over everything. I do think she is a better actress than musician. Then when it came out and the critics ripped it a new one I said, “Yup don’t want to see that.” After all these years I saw it was coming on TV, on one of those Stars channels, so I recorded it.

This drama-comedy was much different than all of Smith’s previous films. It still had some of the quirky dialogue, cameos from some of his well used actors, and tons of his usual jokes. There is no Jay and Silent Bob, which made some people upset, but didn’t bother me. This was a different type of movie in a different setting. If Jay and Silent Bob would have been in this one, I don’t think it would have fit. Kevin Smith was obviously trying to create a more serious film and if you watch it all the way through you find out why. The film is dedicated to his “Pop”, whom I am assuming was his Grandfather. When I saw that I knew why it was different and it made everything ok. People have to deal with grief in their own ways. Creative people usually create something that helps them get through it. I have a feeling this movie was his way of not only dealing with his loss, but creating something that his Pop would have been proud of. That meant leaving out the beloved Jay and Silent Bob.

That being said this movie wasn’t the greatest. One of the beginning scenes is what should have been a very emotional monologue from Affleck. His acting was so shotty that it was painful to watch. It was by far one of the worse scenes in the movie. He was suppose to be crying, hurt and having a revelation about his life. Instead it was minutes of excruciating fake tears and lines delivered with no conviction. There was also some not-so-well-thought-through plot twists. There was some cheesy lighting, close-ups, music and editing. You could tell it was Smith’s first time trying to make a more serious movie. He used so many typical film tricks that it really brought the movie down.

One of the upsides to this movie is that George Carlin is in it! Especially now that he has passed from this realm it was great to see him and hear his voice. He was an amazing man and if you love him as much as I do you should watch this movie just because he has a decent part in it. Liv Tyler is super cute. This film was shot before she hit super stardom and she does a great job. It is still a Kevin Smith movie so it has throw backs to older films, like one of the main settings being a video store. There is plenty of great comedy in it, which Affleck does much better with. One of the best things about this film is there is an amazing cameo in it. If you haven’t seen it, I won’t spoil it for you. The cameo really makes the movie. Overall I would give this movie a 3 out of 5 stars. Some of the really great things make up for some of the really bad stuff. Plus he did it for his Pop. Gotta give the man some credit, he has a heart.

