My badge! I had worked so hard to get this job. My goal is to be an art teacher. I have been working toward this since 2007. I was sidetracked for three years while my husband was in the Army. Now I am about to start my final 3 semesters of school. When I am finished I will have my BA in art ed and my teaching certification. While we were in the process of moving back to Virginia I spent endless days looking and applying for jobs. I wasn’t going to be able to go back to school just yet, it was too late to enroll. Instead I looked for teaching positions that I was qualified for. I applied for over twenty positions with different county public school systems. After I had been working at a day care for about a month I was called for two interviews with Chesterfield on the same day. One of them hired me! I was to work as a special education instructional assistant. I was going to work in a public school! I was going to get the chance to be in a classroom every day! I was beyond overjoyed. I since have finished my school year with them, worked summer school and about to move on with my school. I have to say that working with special ed was an absolute joy. I loved almost every minute, it can be challenging you know. It really made me realize that I do want to teach and I can’t wait to get back to it. 🙂 This photo was the day I got my official badge. I couldn’t have been more proud of myself.

238

“Don’t aim for success if you want it; just do what you love and believe in, and it will come naturally.” ~David Frost

