key_art_barb_wire

My husband and I were attempting to do something “different” last night. We decided to find a crappy and/or cheesy movie and make up a drinking game to go along with it. I made the drinks and he looked on Comcast’s On Demand and found the 1996 Pam Anderson gem Barb Wire. We each made up 2 rules each. Rule #1: Drink whenever there is a gratuitous boob shot. (This is about 75% of the movie.) Rule #2: Drink anytime there is sexual innuendo. (About 25%.) Rule #3: Drink whenever someone gets shot. Rule #4: Drink anytime there is a car chase. Needless to say he finished his first drink about 15 minutes into the movie.

This film is based on a short lived mid-90’s comic book from Dark Horse Comics. It was directed by some dude named Brad Wyman, who went on to direct a short list of films I’ve never heard of before. I take that back he did produce the amazing movie with Charlize Theron, Monster. Have to give credit where credit is due. If you are offended by breasts do not watch this movie. The first scene is Pam getting sprayed with water and her hooters are hanging out. (Hence our drinks disappearing so quickly.) This is a pretty action packed film, not surprisingly. There are some surprise actors in it, like the dude who plays Jango Fett in the Star Wars films. There is tons of bad dialogue and terrible breathy voice overs from Ms. Anderson. The wig they gave the stunt woman to wear is absolutely atrocious.

 The plot is a bit interesting, I am a sucker for apocalyptic future films. Although the “future” is in 2017, man that is coming up soon. It was a bit Mad Maxish, which just made me want to watch that series again. Barb is a badass character and Pam does a decent acting job. I can’t see her winning an Oscar, but I’ve seen “better” actresses and actors do much worse. Overall, I have to say that I did enjoy this film, perhaps it was the alcohol, I’m not sure. I’m only giving this one a 2.5 out of 5. A pretty mediocre flick, but if you need a good laugh, need to kill 98 minutes or want to see some scantly-clad women go ahead and watch it.

