I have some friends from a job I started working at the day after THE September 11th. I worked at that job for a little over 3 years. I have kept in touch with a hand full of those people I called family and a small few I can still call my friends. Last October I had the joy of seeing one of them married. It was a magically beautiful, although a bit chilly, day at Maymont park in Richmond, Virginia. A small crowd gathered in the Japanese garden to be a part of and view a fantastic wedding. Afterward we all headed to the reception in one of the park’s large buildings. Much good food was eaten, many kind words were spoken and my photographer friend and I took a photo of our thumbs after we thumb printed a canvas for the bride and groom. She happens to be the friend who let me borrow her camera for months on end. I feel blessed to have these women in my life. I hope we continue to be friends throughout time.

239

“A friend is one of the nicest things you can have, and one of the best things you can be.” ~Douglas Pagels

 

