oz-the-great-and-powerful-could-be-disneys-next-john-carter-flop

I recently watched this movie with my family. I had been interested to see it in the theater and we almost did see it then, but it didn’t work out. If you are expecting to see a prequel that is equal in greatness to the masterpiece that is The Wizard of Oz you will be greatly disappointed. Once again Disney has let us all down. That doesn’t mean this isn’t a good movie, it just means that Disney’s standards have been in the toilet for such a long time there doesn’t seem to be any going back. If they held themselves to the high standards of the old days this movie would have been something great, instead it was just something ok.

It came out this year, 2013 and was directed by Sam Raimi. Yes, that Sam Raimi, the horror guy. I’m still trying to figure that one out. Just because he is a big name director, doesn’t necessarily mean he is the right guy for this film. I have a feeling that someone else could have done a better job. It has a “star” studded cast; James Franco, Mila Kunis, Rachel Weisz and Michelle Williams. Personally I think James Franco is one of the worse actors out there right now. The dude has no range, he barely can change facial expressions. I feel like every time I see him he is high as a kite and he hasn’t slept in about three days. On the other hand I love Mila Kunis and the other two ladies are fine actresses.

One of the biggest problems I had with this film, other than Franco, is that 95% of all the scenery was CGI. I realize that is “the thing” in this day and age. I also realize that the other “thing” right now is 3D and I know this film came out as a 3D film, BUT there is something that gets lost when every single thing in the film is a computer graphic. Some of the plants and what not were so cartoonish that it really was distracting. I feel like we lose something human about all the talent it takes to create a stage set made by hand that can still boggle the mind. Not saying that creating CGI and any other type of computer art isn’t talented. Many fantastic artists do it and do it well. I just miss the real thing sometimes. With that being said, it wasn’t all bad. There was some really awesome visuals in this film. I think the costumes were pretty awesome. The Wicked Witch’s black dress was badass.

I feel like it moved too fast, was missing some vital parts and had some not-so-well-thought-through ideas. It was entertaining and seeing how everyone came to be who they are was pretty interesting. Whenever we get a family movie from Netflix I usually keep it for a while so my kids can watch it again. When I went to put the disc back in the envelope I accidentally sealed it up. I wasn’t too upset about it, if that tells you anything. I’ll give it a 3 out of 5. It’s worth seeing, but it is not going to hold up over time and is nothing compared to The Wizard of Oz.

