These two photos have light and shadows in common, and also that pink bathroom in the apartment we were living in. Taken on the same wall at different times, these photos focus on the way that light and shadow can create composition. 297 is pretty obvious, it’s all about those blinds and the pattern the sun light creates on my face. The fact that my head is in front of where the light would fall if I hadn’t been standing there creates that break in the pattern, making the rest of the light fall to the left of my head. 298 is about the shadow instead of the light. It focuses on the shadow my face creates on that interesting pink wall, turned slightly purple from the app I used to take it. I enjoy both of these shots. Quality isn’t the greatest, but they are interesting.

297

“The only way to deal with an unfree world is to become so absolutely free that your very existence is an act of rebellion.” ~Albert Camus

298

“Art is a shadow of what a person is thinking… a small glimpse of what they hold inside. Little secrets, regrets, joys… every line has its own meaning.” ~Sarah, Los Cerros Middle School

